Research Advisory Board

The RAB is a key component of APHCRI’s structure.


The RAB Chair and members are agreed by both ANU and the Department of Health, and appointed by the ANU.
The Chair is an independent appointment – that is, an employee of neither the ANU nor the Department. The Deputy Chair is drawn from among the members of the RAB and is, in the same manner as the Chair, an independent appointment.
Members are individuals with a range of perspectives and expertise relevant to primary health care research. Members are not appointed as representatives or nominees of organisations or groups. One Board member will be Indigenous and will have Indigenous health expertise.

Advisory role

The RAB has an advisory role with respect to five matters,

  1. To advise on APHCRI’s other research (that is, research that is not supported by core APHCRI grant funding but by other arrangements and collaborations)
  2. To provide advice on building partnerships to achieve APHCRI aims
  3. To provide advice on APHCRI’s Strategic Plan and other consequential plans and work programs
  4. To provide advice on the uptake of research evidence in primary health care policy and practice
  5. To consider and advise on the performance of APHCRI with reference to its working documents such as the annual workplan and budget, and to recommend changed processes, procedures or plans arising from this consideration.

Decision-making role

The RAB is required to make certain decisions, these including

  • Identifies and agrees on research topics
  • Composes Expert Review Committees (ERC) to consider applications for funding
  • Reviews and recommends the allocation of funds from the Australian Government’s commitment to APHCRI primary health care research, and
  • Receives and considers reports of APHCRI-funded research.
Name Position
Associate Professor Margaret Allman-Farinelli School of Public Health, University of Sydney
Mr Mark Booth First Assistant Secretary, Primary Care Division, Department of Health and Ageing
Ms Kirsty Cheyne-Macpherson Director, Mental Health Policy and Research Branch, Department of Health
Professor Patrick Crookes Dean, Faculty of Health & Behavioural Sciences, Head School of Nursing, Midwifery & Indigenous Health, University of Wollongong
Emeritus Professor John Humphreys Monash University School of Rural Health
Ms Michele Kosky Consumer Consultant
Professor David Lyle Head Department of Rural Health, University of Sydney (Broken Hill)
Professor Ellen McIntyre Primary Health Care Research and Information Service(PHCRIS), Flinders University
Professor Mark Nelson Deputy Chair, RAB, Head of General Practice, University of Tasmania
Mr Janet Quigley Assistant Secretary, Mental Health Policy and Research, Department of Health
Mr Ian Thompson Deputy Chief Executive, ACT Health
Ms Julie Tongs Chief Executive Officer, Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health Service
Professor Deborah Turnbull Chair, RAB, Chair in Psychology, University of Adelaide

Updated:  20 September 2017/Responsible Officer:  Director, APHCRI/Page Contact:  Web Admin, APHCRI